Glutеn frее dіеt

If you have celiac disease or other forms of gluten sensitivity, you should opt for a gluten-free diet. Celiac disease is a health condition in which gluten triggers autoimmunity that damages the lining of the small intestine. Over time, this damage prevents the absorption of nutrients from food. If you are expression abdominal (stomach) discomfort – including pain, bloating, diarrhea, constipation – as well as the foggy brain, you might need to embark on a gluten-free journey.

Many have also adopted a gluten-free diet as a means of losing weight and boosting energy levels.

Gluten is present in grains including barley, wheat, rye, and triticale (a cross between wheat and rye), including traditionally-prepared bread, pasta, cereals, and beers.

 

Is rye gluten-free?

No, rye is not gluten-free.

Rye contains secalin, a type of gluten protein. Therefore, avoid any food containing rye as an ingredient if you are on a gluten-free diet.

Also, triticale is a hybrid of rye and wheat – therefore should also be avoided.

 

Іs уеаst glutеn frее?

In most instances, yeast is gluten-free, including yeast that you use to make your bread rise (Baker’s yeast) and nutritional yeast.

However, two types of yeast may not be gluten-free:

  • The yeast used to brew beer (Brewer’s yeast).
  • Might be present in nutritional supplements
  • It’s possible to find gluten-free brewer’s yeast made from beets instead of beer. This type of brewer’s yeast is more palatable since it is less bitter than a typical beer. Two possible brands are Lewis Labs Brewer’s Yeast and Anthony’s Brewer’s Yeast.
  • Yeast extract
  • Yeast extract is incorporated into some foods such as cheese, salty snacks, and canned soups to create a unique, tangy taste. However, yeast extract is not gluten-free because it comes from brewer’s yeast.

If you are gluten-free and you want to take yeast as a supplement for its nutritional benefits, you have numerous choices in gluten-free products. Furthermore, you don’t need to worry about baker’s yeast or yeast extract when they’re labeled gluten-free.

You should be aware that the different types of yeast are not interchangeable.

 

Іs bаkіng роwdеr glutеn frее?

It depends.

Baking powders are made up of baking soda, cream of tartar (an acid) and a starch (to absorb moisture).

Starch can either be gluten-free (made from corn starch) or gluten-full (made from wheat starch). Even if you find gluten-free baking powder, this can introduce a problem for those who are gluten-free but have a corn intolerance.

The baking powder brands you can find in grocery stores or online are typically gluten-free. Rumford and Bob’s Red Mill are two brands of baking powder that do not contain gluten and are safe for those with gluten sensitivity.

 

Іs sреlt glutеn frее?

Spelt is an ancient whole grain, purported to be more nutritious than modern grain.

While spelt can be a great substitute to wheat for those with mild gluten sensitivity, spelt is not gluten-free.

If you have a gluten allergy or celiac disease, you should avoid spelt – just as you would wheat and rye.

Spelt is to digest than modern wheat because (1) the gluten in spelt is naturally-occurring, and (2) spelt is higher in fiber.

 

Аrе Оаts Glutеn-Frее?

Оаts аrе nаturаllу glutеn-frее, but strау whеаt, rуе, оr bаrlеу саn bе іntrоduсеd durіng thе hаrvеstіng аnd trаnsроrtаtіоn.

 

Is wine gluten-free?

The short answer is yes.

Typically, wine comes from grapes, and the process, under normal circumstances, has no exposure to gluten whatsoever. Wines are labeled “gluten-free” as long as they contain less than 20 ppm gluten – and the vast majority of wines do comply. The resulting wine is not likely to have significant (if any) gluten in it to cause a reaction (1). Furthermore, even if traces of gluten would accidentally enter a wine, the gluten would react with the wine’s phenolics and therefore significantly reduced.

 

Іs соusсоus glutеn frее?

Cоusсоus comes from grains of durum wheat semolina flour. Hence, any dish that contains couscous is off-limits to you if you’re adhering to a gluten-free diet.

Nevertheless, there are now gluten-free couscous products that you can now find in the market. There are also gluten-free grain products available that are similar in taste and texture to couscous, and you can substitute these in dishes that call for couscous.

Couscous pairs well with strongly flavored sauces. You can add couscous into many Middle Eastern and Mediterranean recipes, especially in salads and some stews. You can also serve gluten-free couscous in stir-fries, typically mixed with vegetables, meat, and spices.

 

Іs реаnut buttеr glutеn-frее?

Peanut butter – as well as peanuts, peanut flour, and peanut oil – are naturally gluten-free. The issue with peanut butter containing gluten generally comes from the potential for cross-contamination.

 

Is milk gluten-free?

Yes, all types of plain cow’s milk are gluten-free.

However, if the milk has flavorings or other additives, it may no longer be gluten-free. So you should read the label to make sure it’s gluten-free.

Additionally, avoid malted milk drinks as they are not gluten-free. The word “malt” on a food label usually indicates they are made with barley and therefore contain gluten.

It’s also important to note that secondary lactose intolerance is common due to loss of lactase, an enzyme that digests milk. The damage that gluten causes to the small intestine is the main reason is the lack of lactase in people with celiac disease. While adhering to a gluten-free diet, the gut can heal, making lactose intolerance temporary in most celiac disease patients.

 

Bottom line

A balanced gluten-free diet should be based on a combination of naturally gluten-free foods and certified processed gluten-free products (2).